top of page

Be an advocate


 
Health, whole living, parenting, fighting with kids, parenting tips,
 

Parenting is the toughest and most frustrating thing I have ever done. It is definitely worth it, but man, it wears you down, tears you open and breaks you apart sometimes, doesn’t it?


It is so easy to want to give in to their wants (knowing it is not what they need). It is so easy to want to go the less combative way. It is so easy to just give up and give in.


Daily, I am pursuing healthier choices not just for me, but for my family too. It can be tough living it out, and sure is a grind to continue teaching my kids. It is a battle to not let my own desires for the unhealthy choices overcome me, but it is also a battle to advocate for my family’s health. 


I know the benefits, but do the kids understand? Not so much. I tell them, but they don’t care about the long term benefits, they only see the short term pleasure. This leads to lots of debates and arguing. And after pleading my cause and reasons, it usually ends in a lot of “because I said so”.


I needed some God wisdom recently and opened my Bible to James. Well, He definitely encouraged me...


“Consider it nothing but joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you fall into various trials. Be assured that the testing of your faith [through experience] produces endurance [leading to spiritual maturity, and inner peace]. And let endurance have its perfect result and do a thorough work, so that you may be perfect and completely developed [in your faith], lacking in nothing.” ‭‭James‬ ‭1:2-4‬ ‭AMP‬‬


After reading this, it brought me the boost that I needed. It reminded me that these kinds of struggles are worth it. The word advocate also came to mind.


Advocate as a noun means to plead the cause of another; one who defends and maintains a cause. As a verb, it means to support or argue for a cause and to plead in favor of a cause.


So the conclusion? Keep at it. Keep advocating for the health of my family even when it means they don’t like me for it. Keep advocating for the long term benefits even when it means battling their short term desires.


Parents, I hope this encourages you! Keep advocating for your kids’ health in mind, body and soul.  Be their advocate and fight for them even when it means you are battling the very ones you’re fighting for.  It is WORTH the struggle! 


“Care for the flock that God has entrusted to you. Watch over it willingly, not grudgingly—not for what you will get out of it, but because you are eager to serve God. Don’t lord it over the people assigned to your care, but lead them by your own good example.” ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:2-3‬ ‭NLT‬‬


This mindset can also be applied to advocating your own health too!



bottom of page